Where the wind comes sweeping down the plains…

nunst059 (1)

Oklahomans are anything if not stubborn. One only has to look to the region we have decided to locate ourselves in; a region plagued with high winds and fault lines; a region where it can snow one day, and hit triple digits in the next. You would be hard pressed to find a place where the environment matches the people to a tee! We are set in our beliefs, and won’t accept substitutes to those beliefs. We are often considered controversial. The people here also care in a way you would be hard pressed to find anywhere else whether you like it or not. This is a state where EVERYONE is your neighbor, and EVERYONE cares.

As cliché as it sounds, you can’t really comprehend tragedy until it happens at your doorstep. Now, I can’t pretend like I know what the people of Moore are going through right now. Many of these people have lost everything from homes to loved ones. This was an incident that claimed the lives of so many innocent people, including children. It’s easy to get angry at a time like this. This is same anger that overwhelmed us numerous times in the past year in Joplin, Aurora, Newtown, Boston, and in Texas, and even internationally in places like Syria, Israel, and China. It can be overwhelming at times, with darkness creeping in at every possible corner. It can only be compared to drowning. However, it is in our darkest hours that our brightest heroes show themselves. Fred Rogers said it best: “When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, “Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.” Listen to these wise words if your heart is breaking right now. Look to the heroes, and they will lead you to the light. Better yet? BE ONE OF THOSE HEROES and help someone that may be overwhelmed right now.

I often avoid staying away from writing about tragedies. I’m afraid I could never do the subject justice. I’m afraid that I will sound insincere as I am writing from a place of relative comfort. This time was different. This was on my doorstep.

I am not religious, but I urge all of those who are, to pray. For those who aren’t, keep these people in your thoughts. But I also urge action. Praying and hoping will help you, but If you are compelled to help, please donate to the Red Cross. The two number one items they are going to want is money and blood. Click on the link below to donate. As always, every little bit is going to be appreciated.

http://www.redcross.org/charitable-donations

This won’t be the last hardship this state ever faces. Have no doubt about that, but what better place to be when tragedy strikes? To be in a place where you see such love expressed between total strangers? We may not always agree, but I do love this place. It is my home, and right now my home is hurting. And if you are from Oklahoma reading this right now, your home is hurting. It looks bleak. I know, but there is light. There is always light. Never forget that. Stay safe, and let’s get through this together as neighbors.

One thought on “Where the wind comes sweeping down the plains…

Leave a Reply

